Song of the Week #32

I had already written Friday’s post in my head yesterday afternoon and then completely forgot to post last night! So much has been going on lately. I’m still in training for my new part-time job in merchandising and I am doing pretty well. It looks like I will be pretty busy in the coming months, as I have been given additional responsibilities at work, but I feel that I am up to the task. My family and I are also dealing with a sick elderly relative as well, making sure they have everything they need, etc. If you’ve ever had to deal with aging family members, then you know what I am talking about. I’m also making tentative plans to go out of town on a day trip. Right now I’m trying to decide where to go and what to see. And I’m sure you all have heard about the events in Boston and Texas, as well as the earthquake in the Sichuan province in China. Some of you may remember that there was another earthquake in the same region in 2008. Makes you wonder what’s really going on in the world today. I can only hope that justice is served in the appropriate way, without condemning huge swaths of people based on their ethnicity and religion.

I love listening to Nina Simone sing this song. I had a hard time deciding if I should post this one or Oleta Adams’ version (which is excellent BTW). After a little Googling, I found out that this song was written by Bernard Ighner for Quincy Jones’ 1974 album, Body Heat. It has been covered by many artists over the years. Nina Simone’s version appears on the 1978 album, Baltimore. I’m not that familiar with Simone’s work but this one will always be my favorite.

Have great weekend đŸ˜„

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in song-a-week challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

