Song of the Week #20

*waves* hey, remember me? 😄

Things have picked up for me a little bit. Started my new job, which is awesome. I don’t have that many hours yet, but I’m hoping that I will get more soon. I really need the money lol. The webcomic that I’m involved in is also making strides. At the moment, Ashley and I are getting ready for the launch of INITIUM Book 1 on Tuesday, December 18th @ 9pm EST (6pm PST). I hope you all will check out the webcomic and let us know what you think. I’m working on Book 2 right now but the work has been going pretty slowly. I’ve been feeling pretty lethargic recently and have yet to put up any holiday decorations. I’ll get to it eventually.

I’ve been listening to a lot of anime-related music recently. This song has quickly become a favorite of mine to listen to and sing along with. Steve Conte has a really great voice. Conte himself is a pretty accomplished musician and singer, having worked many different people and produced lots of music. I definitely plan to check out his other work when I have some time.

I heard an acoustic cover of this song while viewing the credits of a documentary called Sexy Baby (which is pretty interesting btw). Lily Allen isn’t someone that I know a whole lot about but I really like this song. The sarcastic tone of voice dripping with irony fits perfectly with the age that we’re in right now. Especially as a person in my 20s who gets bombarded daily with so much media bs about what I should be doing with my life. It’s enough to make a person go a little bit crazy. By Allen singing this song, it signals to me that she is someone who can see what’s going on around her and wants to try and say something about it. The light pop vibe makes it easy to digest and leaves the listener to think about what they are really trying to do with their lives.

I’ve had the chorus to this song stuck in my head for a few days for some reason. In light of recent events, it feels rather appropriate. The Offspring was pretty big in the 90s. I remember constantly hearing their songs on the radio. Now, most of the songs that I hear in the car can’t really convey the emotional depth and beauty of this song. According to Wikipedia, The Offspring are still together recording music, having released their ninth studio album on June 26th, 2012.

After I went and saw SkyFall at the theater near my house several weeks ago with some family, I fell in love with this song. I even found this really cool violin cover by Jun Sung Ahn. I’m not a big Adele fan, but I think that she really nailed this song. The opening graphics for the James Bond film, coupled with this song are amazing. The movie itself was great. When it comes out on DVD, I plan on getting a copy.

Thanks for reading!

P.S. INITIUM now had a Facebook page and a Tumblr 😄

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in song-a-week challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Song of the Week #20

  1. Hi! So you like old The Offspring!? Why don’t you check out my version for Dirty Magic!? I’d love to know what you think about it. Here it is: http://onecutemanband.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/my-version-of-the-offsprings-dirty-magic/

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

