Song of the Week #18?!

*sneaks into post like James Bond*

Sorry I’ve been MIA. I’d forget that I was supposed to post, only to remember the next day. The last few weeks have been pretty great. I went to two Halloween parties on the 27th of October with a friend. Ate a bunch good food and hung out with some chill people, one of whom I ran into this week while I was out and about. Last Sunday I had Buffalo Wild Wings with some people from church. If you’ve never heard of BWW, you are missing out. They serve wings, burgers, fries, drinks, etc., at pretty reasonable prices. The interior of the restaurant is geared toward sports. There are jerseys on the walls, flat-screens on almost every wall, and the servers are dressed like sports players. So if you’re into beer and watching the game, it’s a great environment. And the wings are awesome.

This week has been really good for me. I’ve been hired by a retail company to do merchandising around town. The hourly rate is great and I should be starting my first assignment soon. I’m really excited and I can’t wait to get started. I’ve been out of work for awhile and I have been very stressed out because of it. Hopefully things will go well for me and I’ll be with this company for a long period of time. Tomorrow I’ll be having a potluck with some friends. I’m in charge of soda this time, so I’ll be heading out to the grocery store in the am.

I first came across Jeff Buckley when I was in community college. The college library had a copy of the album Grace and I remember being blown away by the power of his voice. The artistry of his music hits you right in the heart, the overflowing emotions like a tidal wave pulling you under. Sometime later, I grabbed a copy of Sketches For My Sweetheart The Drunk and Live at Sin-E. Every time I listen to him sing, it feels like the first time. Buckley is my favorite all-around artist. Singing, guitar-playing, everything. When I die, I want his music to be played at my funeral, along with some hymns. I will never get tired of listening to his albums. “Vancouver” is the ninth track on the Sketches album. In the song, Buckley sings about the push-and-pull of a disintegrating relationship. The couple in question seem to be stuck between wanting and hating each other. The lyrics to this song are fairly vague, so your interpretation of the song maybe different from mine. One of these days, I’m going to get back to my guitar and learn how to play at least one Jeff Buckley song 🙂

Thanks for tuning in! I promise I’ll do better.

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in song-a-week challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

