Song of the Week #11

Look up in the sky!

It’s a bird!

It’s a plane!

It’s Friday! XD

This week has been slow on progress and long on stress. I’m trying my hardest to finish the projects in front of me but sometimes I wonder if all this stress and anxiety is really worth it. I know that something wonderful will be created in the end but it’s so hard knowing that I have to fight against societal expectations of what success looks like and other people’s perceptions of myself and my work. Makes me incredibly tired. Sometimes all I want to do is sleep and never wake up. But somehow another day rolls through and I’m out of bed, wondering what to make for breakfast *shrugs*

I first heard “Ne Me Quitte Pas” after downloading some Edith Piaf tracks. It had been mislabeled as being sung by Piaf but in fact, it was Mireille Mathieu’s voice that I heard. Originally recorded by Jacques Brel, this song is intensely emotional and will reduce you to tears. Even before I looked up the lyrics after listening to it a couple of times, I could feel the sorrowful energy in the singer’s vocal inflections crashing over me like a wave. In the song, the speaker is trying convince their love not to leave them, begging them to forget everything that has happened and to just stay. This song is definitely one of my top ten songs to listen to over and over again.

Until next time.

P.S. The Initium site is finally up!

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in song-a-week challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

