Song of the Week #10

*looks over shoulder* Oh it’s you again. What’s that you say? Today’s Friday? Huh, I thought it was still Thursday. You want a video? Of what? Oh right, music video. Sorry about that. *shuffles off to YouTube*

Here you go:

This week has been pretty good for me. I’ve been more social than normal, hanging out with friends and getting to know people who are still strangers to me in some respects. I’ve also been hard at work on my new project. My partner in crime, Ashley, posted the promo art for our webcomic, Initium. It should be ready in October. I’m very excited and I hope that you all will enjoy getting to know the characters and the story. I’m still looking for part-time or full-time employment but like so many other people, I haven’t found anything.

I thought that “Love Me, I’m a Liberal” would be especially fitting since the US elections are coming up in November. I love Phil Ochs’ sarcastic one-liners in this song. Although most of the people and groups that he name-checks might be unfamiliar to some people, the general feeling of disdain for liberals comes through very well. I, myself, would probably be considered a “liberal” by most people but I don’t feel like that label really fits me. I’m a member of the Green Party and usually label myself as such. I’m sure that you all could come up with some new terms to add to this song, like swapping DAR out for Independent Women’s Forum or Fox News, or Van Jones for Malcom X, etc. Let me know what you come up with in the comments.

BONUS VIDEO!

I had the hardest time picking a video for this week. I narrowed it down to two and since this is the 10th post in this series, I figured I might as well add another song to this post.

This is one of my favorite songs. I’m not big listener of hip-hop but I have a few artists that I love to listen to from time to time. One of them is Omar Offendum. Offendum is Syrian-American and gained some attention for the #Jan.25 song about the Egyptian revolution and his song, #SYRIA, about the Syrian crisis. “Finjan” has such a poetic flow to that it slides through your soul as you try to digest it’s meaning. I’ve been wanting to buy his last album Syriana Americana for awhile but I’m pretty broke right now, so it’s going on my list of stuff to buy when I have money lol.

Thanks for tuning. See you next week (=

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in song-a-week challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

