shifting gears

For the last couple of weeks, most of my attention has been focused on finishing my novel. I am getting closer and closer to finishing it and I’ve been thinking about what my plans are for getting it into the hands of the public. The downside is that this project has fallen to the wayside. It feels like it’s taking me forever to figure out what to do next. Factor in procrastination and tons of distractions and you’ve got a recipe for disaster. What I hope to do in the next few months is finish my novel, get it edited, get the cover designed, maybe give out some advance copies to friends, and then finally e-publish it on Kindle and Smashwords. I know for a lot of people, e-publishing doesn’t seem to be a good idea but the publishing industry isn’t look so good either. Check out Joe Konrath’s blog about the subject. He’s done it both ways and has the numbers to back it up. Hopefully I’ll be able to make some money, so that I can get some good theory books, like this one I have on my wish list. Maybe once I do that, I’ll be able to get over myself and finish this project, lol.

In the meantime, I thought I’d repost the links for pieces I have finished. In case you missed it:

A Study in Bleakness

Trace Memories

I’m probably going to re-record “A Study in Bleakness” because I’ve been wanting to rewrite and add some lines to it. I did a little bit last month but I’m still not quite satisfied with it yet. Cross your fingers for me, guys!

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in composition project, music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

