slowly the wind blows

Sorry that it’s been so quiet here the last few weeks. I’ve been working on my novel and try to do more reading about musical form and composition. I got a copy of Musical Form by Ebenezer Prout and Craft of Musical Composition 1: Theory by Hindemith from the local library, along with a stack of classical cds by various composers for inspiration. Composing has fallen to the wayside but only temporarily. Once I’ve done more studying, I should be able to articulate my ideas for “Inward” more clearly and translate them better on the piano and on paper. I do plan on finishing this project, although I can’t really give a time frame because so many things in my life are influx. I’m also looking for a second job because I’m not getting enough work at the department store. Makes things a lot more frustrating for me. On an interesting note, I played a kind of mini concert about two or three weeks ago for the AT&T service tech who came and fixed the internet at my house. I just played “Trace Memories” since that is my current favorite. I messed up once at the beginning and started over, playing the whole song through almost perfectly. Maybe once I’ve finished work on all five songs, I’ll play them for some friends or something, if I don’t get too nervous first.

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in composition project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

