getting down to business

Yesterday when I was at church, while singing a hymn, I realized that the first section of “Inward” should start with the heart. Later that afternoon, I began to sketch out some ideas on paper to figure out what kinds of things should be expressed in the piece. What I came up with looks like a quasi-poem:

the heart is the starting place for us all.
it beats come steadily
breathes are constants,
in and out.
body stretches back and forth
muscles pulse and sinew taut
a grumble for food until satiated
the limbs grow slower, the eyelids
get heavy
breathe slows down
and in the background, the heart
still beating.

I also started a sketch for the Mind section but it’s not quite fleshed out yet. I’ve also been re-learning music theory and studying music composition. I went to the library few weeks ago and got The Complete Idiot’s Guide To Music Theory, along with Musician’s Guide to Reading and Writing Music. I know some theory already from taking piano lessons but I don’t remember everything, so I decided to start from the beginning and work my way up to level I need to be at to write my pieces. I’m also reading A Practical Guide to Music Composition by Alan Belkin. I had downloaded it from Belkin’s site a while ago but I had forgotten that I had it. I’m not sure when I’ll begin work again on “Inward” but hopefully it will be soon.

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in composition project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to getting down to business

  1. Brilliant site, I had not come across lostincompositionland.wordpress.com before during my searches!
    Carry on the wonderful work!

Leave a Reply

