Places of Belonging

I decided to take a writing break today and play some music. I’ve been feeling pretty restless and anxious for several days. Hopefully, I’ll be able get a change of scenery soon, when I have a bit more money. I had it in my head that I wanted to do a piece in C or E today. I played a C major chord progression and glanced at my other scale books that I had and decided I’d just hash it out on the keys and see what I came up with. I messed around a bit until I got manged to get a melody going starting on E. After I managed to jot down what I had, my brain filled in the rest of the blanks for me.

I was surprised because it came to me so quickly. I knew exactly what the song needed to sound like and I could hear all the notes quite clearly. I heard sax and trumpet in there too and quickly realized that I had a jazz piece on my hands. I’ve never written one before but I do love to listen to¬† it. I’m a big Erroll Garner fan, especially since we share the same birthday. I also like Art Tatum, Davis, Jimmy Scott, Ellington, Coltrane, Bill Frisell, Nat King Cole, Oscar Peterson, and Colin Stetson. The title of the piece is “Where is Home.” I’ve been think about where do I belong, where do I want to live, etc., a lot lately. I also downloaded this really great song from Amazon the other day, “A Place That You Want to Call Home” by Roger Kellaway that I fell in love with. This piece was probably born out of all of my ruminations. Hopefully, it won’t take too long to write since I have another story that needs writing. I may record it once I’m done but the quality will most likely be poor. Ce la vie.

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in composition project and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

