belated birthday

I meant to write this post last week at the beginning of the month but a busy holiday weekend coupled with unexpected car trouble put blogging on the back-burner. It has been one year since I started this blog. I looked back at my first couple of posts and thought about what my goals and hopes were at the time. I had just managed to pull myself out of a dark hole only a few months prior to starting this blog. Starting this project was a huge catalyst for me. It gave me something to look forward to each day, something to cling to while the rest of my life was nothing but one frustration after another. Post-grad hell. Not somewhere you’d want to be. Even though I eventually found work, nothing seemed to last for very long. Every time I thought I might finally succeed in the real world, reality would come in and sweep everything away. I ended up giving up on finding ‘real work’ after a while and focused on finishing my book. After a few months, I finally finished it and began the editing process.
At the moment, I am getting ready to e-publish to Kindle. I am excited and a little nervous about the e-book thing. It also mirrors my hopes and anxieties about this project, will people be interested in my work, will they like it or hate it, etc. My original goal was to write about five songs/compositions and upload them to share with friends. Currently, I have finished two songs, I’m stuck on the third, and I’ve sketched out some ideas for future pieces. I have no idea how this whole thing is going to come together. I do plan on finishing at some point but getting my book ready has taken up a lot more of my time than I initially realized. I have to wear more than one hat now. I switch between writer, musician/composer, and business person. Hopefully, I will come up a better schedule for myself so that I can get things done. Time management is not my strong suit ;) In another week I will be having a birthday, which also brings another dimension to things. Being in your mid-twenties is a strange time. At times I feel my age and other times I don’t. My mom, who is super-awesome btw, still feels the need to bossy me around. I am grateful that I have a home to live in and hope that I’ll able to have my own space again very soon. I miss living by myself.

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in composition project and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to belated birthday

  1. Pingback: time for another birthday | LostInCompositionLand

Leave a Reply

