{insert witty post here}

Yesterday, I did a little work on “Inward.” I had meant to work on my new piece, which I decided to call “As Cities Burn,” but I felt compelled to look at “Inward” first. After warming up with my other pieces, I played through what I had. I realized that I’m stuck. I know what the “Body” section should sound like. If I concentrate long enough, I can hear the notes fairly clearly. The beat is fast and danceable with lots of strings, maybe violins or something. I just can’t seem to get it all out on paper right now. It so frustrating because I know what needs to be done but the notes are so fucking elusive. I ended up getting annoyed and wandered off.

Today, I began to do some theory studying, this time using another library book, Music Theory by Margaret Richer from the Teach Yourself books. There is supposed to be a cd along with the book but it’s missing. I’m probably going to have to buy a theory book at some point but I’m trying to stretch my dollars. I did a little research for a self-study book a couple of weeks ago and found this one by Alfred. They make a lot of music books and instructional material. I remember using their piano books when I used to take lessons along with the Suzuki books I learned from. I also came across this book while I was at Borders and decided to buy it because it was under $10. Hopefully, this will help me remember all the music terminology that I seem to have misplaced somewhere in my brain.

I don’t make resolutions but I am going to do my darndest to finish this project and my novel if it’s the last thing I do! Hope you are having a nice holiday and have a good New Year’s Eve. I plan on watching some James Bond. Old school Sean Connery is the best.

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in composition project and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

