the perfectionist streak

This has been a very busy week for me. I started a new retail job on Monday at a department store doing pricing. I had to get up in the dark three days in a row to be at work by 6:30 am. I’m not usually up at that hour so it was a struggle going to bed at a decent hour and driving to work before the sun was up. In my down time, I try to get up between 9ish and 10ish, and that’s with setting my clock so I don’t stay in bed all day. If I let myself, I probably wouldn’t get out of bed or get dressed at all. My internal clock is all out of whack and I’m contemplating going to bed right now instead of watching a Bergman flick from Netflix.

I worked a little bit at the piano today, having today and yesterday off from work.  I played through “A Study in Bleakness” just to warm up and ended up adding some pedal to last part of the song. I’ve been wanting to rewrite and/or add some stuff to it for a while now. Some parts of the piece don’t flow together as well as “Trace Memories.” It seems like a bunch of different ideas that are held together rather loosely rather than a tight, neat piece. It’s probably because “Trace Memories” is about a page and half, while  “Bleakness” is about 2 and half pages long. Plus the fact that they are totally different pieces, the moods, the ideas behind them, everything.  It just feels like it’s missing something. idk, I think my perfectionist streak is trying to rear it’s head again. It can be rather loud sometimes, although I try to tape it’s mouth shut most of the time, lol. I’m just not sure if I can split my attention between two different pieces. I’m already doing that now, splitting my attention between my writing and my music and that’s really hard for me to do. I’m going to try and finish “Inward” first and come back to “Bleakness” later. Maybe. I also was able to make a little progress on the Body section of “Inward.” I only wrote a few measures, just with the left hand. Its not much but it’s better than nothing I suppose. I’m going to try and get some more done tomorrow if I can and do some theory studying.

About lostincompositionland

absentminded composer/writer with short-ass attention span. Prone to fits of silliness at the drop of a hat. :P
This entry was posted in composition project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

